America’s WateReuse Association has unveiled the winners of this year’s awards for leadership in water reuse.

The Large Project of the Year Award went to Hamby Water Reclamation Facility and Indirect Reuse Project in Abilene, Texas. The awards are designed to recognise utilities, businesses, and people that provide leadership in advancing water reuse.

“Utilities want to create a sustainable, integrated approach to water management. This year’s winners are examples of how excellence in leadership can drive innovation,” said WateReuse associate executive director Melissa Meeker.

The Equipment Manufacturer of the Year Award was scooped by H20 Innovation, which has provided reverse osmosis and micro filtration systems to several industrial and municipal water reuse projects during the past 20 years. “H20 Innovation has demonstrated continued dedication to the water reuse community, and the WateReuse Association gratefully acknowledges the contributions it has made,” said Meeker.

The other winners are: Industrial Project of the Year Award — Simplot Process Water Treatment and Return Plant; Small Project of the Year Award — Water Reclamation Facility, Davie, Florida; Agriculture Project of the Year Award — Recycled Water Expansion Project, Napa, California; Institution of the Year Award — Colorado Water Conservation Board; Public Education Programme of the Year Award — Sustainable Beer Smackdown, Clean Water Services, Oregon, and Milwaukee Municipal Sewage District, Wisconsin; Innovative Project of the Year Award — Goodyear, Arizona; Customers of the Year Award — Denver Parks and Recreation Department, Colorado, and Dominguez Gap Seawater Intrusion Barrier, California; Person of the Year Award — Bart Weiss, Hillsborough County Public Utilities Department, Florida; Young Professional of the Year Award — Jillian Vandegrift, CDM Smith; and Dave Sequa President’s Award — Ellen McDonald, Alan Plummer Associates.