IDA lifetime achievement award for Toray’s Kurihara

A lifetime achievement award to Dr Masaru Kurihara of Toray Membranes was awarded by the International Desalination Association at its awards banquet which closed the IDA World Congress in Perth, Australia on 8 September 2011.

Kurihara, who joined Toray Industries in 1963, was recently given the title of Fellow by the company when he took up his post as senior scientific director of Japan’s Mega-Ton Water System Project in 2010 to research and develop new technologies, particularly desalination, in the water supply industry.

This year he has been president of the Japan Desalination Association and president of the Asia Pacific Desalination Association.

Other awards made by IDA at its congress included:

Best Poster Presentation
Dr Uday G Kelkar
Use of Moving Bed Biofilm Reactor (MBBR) Process for Treatment of Polluted Yamuna River Water

Best Oral Presentation, Young Leader
Victor ST Sim
Development of Novel Monitors for Early Detection of Fouling in Reverse-Osmosis Systems

Best Oral Presentation, Water Reuse
Dr Craig R Bartels
Optimizing Membrane Bioreactor/Reverse Osmosis (MBR/RO) Performance for Treatment of Municipal Wastewater

Best Oral Presentation, Thermal Desalination
Prakash Govindan
Status of Humidification Dehumidification Desalination Technology

Best Oral Presentation, Membrane Desalination
Dr Prof Tony G Fane
Advances in Membrane Distillation (MD) and Forward Osmosis (FO): Membranes, Modules and Applications

Emerging Leaders Achievement Award
Hiep Le