Singapore prize attracts 39 entries

A total of 39 nominations from 19 countries were received for Lee Kuan Yew Water Prize 2009 when nominations closed on 31 October 2008.

This equals the number in last year’s inaugural year, when the prize was won by Zenon membrane developer Dr Andrew Benedek .

The entries show not only a wide spectrum of water solutions but also new disciplines in water research and applications. In addition, more nominations from the Asia-Pacific region, including China, India and Sri Lanka, have been received.