Five new faces were elected directly to the board of the International Desalination Association (IDA) for 2013‑15.

The newcomers are: Carlos Cosin from Spanish desalination contractor Abengoa; Johnny Obeid of Veolia Water Solutions & Technologies / Sidem; Devesh Sharma, executive vice president of Aquatech International; Men Leong Chew from PUB, the Singapore national water agency; and Youqing Li from China’s Harbin ROPV Industry Development Center.

They will be joined later by one member from each of IDA’s 14 affiliates, while a new president will be elected at a board meeting at the IDA World Congress in Tianjin, China, which begins on 20 October 2013.

The complete IDA Board of Directors for 2013-2015 is:

Michel Canet – Veolia Water Solutions & Technologies
Guillaume Clairet – H2O Innovation
Carlos Cosin – Abengoa Water
Miguel Angel Sanz – Degrémont
Corrado Sommariva – ILF Consulting Engineers

Latin America/Caribbean
Emilio Gabbrielli – Toray Membrane

Middle East
Zamzam Alrakaf – Ministry of Electricity & Water
Abdullah Al AlShaikh – Saline Water Conversion Corporation
Mohamad Jaroudi – Future Pipe Industries
Fady Juez – Metito Overseas Ltd
Imad Makhzoumi – Future Pipe Industries
Shannon McCarthy – Middle East Desalination Research Center
Johnny Obeid – Veolia Water Solutions & Technologies / Sidem

North America
Leon Awerbuch – Leading Edge Technologies Ltd
Lance Johnson – Dow Water & Process Solutions
Devesh Sharma – Aquatech
Rick Stover – Desalitech

Pacific Asia
Men Leong Chew – PUB, Singapore
Gary Crisp – GHD Pty Ltd
Nobuya Fujiwara – Toyobo Co Ltd
Youqing Li – Harbin ROPV Industry Development Center